Christmas 2013

I hope everyone had a great Christmas this year.  We again have been beyond blessed this year and had a great time spending it with family and friends.

Our Christmas extravangsa began on Sunday the 22nd in Lake City with my mom’s side of the family.  I love that we all get together and get to spend most of the day hanging out with everyone.  My mom is one of 7, and there are 11 grandchildren with 16 great-grandchildren.  We have a blast when we are together and the volume is usually loud 🙂  I forgot to get my camera out to get pictures but here is a picture of our family from our wedding so you will get how many people are hanging out in my grandparents house.

1140_Kara

I love that I have a big family, we all get together and both my grandparents are still living.  I hope that one day Andrew and I can have a long happy marriage that my grandparents have shown us.

After Christmas in Lake City we headed to Walnut (Andrew’s hometown) to spend time with Andrew’s side of the family.  We had nothing planned until the 23rd at night so Andrew and I slept in and spend time just the two of us.  We stopped and saw Andrew’s high school friends James and Brooke (we are anxiously awaiting the birth of their first baby.)  After a fun morning of visiting we headed off to Council Bluffs to get lunch and stop at my favorite store Hobby Lobby!  We needed to pick up a few last minutes things to finish Andrew’s mom’s present.

Once we got home we spent some time with Andrew’s mom and sister before heading off to supper with Andrew’s dad.  After supper we decided to go bowling and I beat the boys in the first two games of bowling and decided to let them win the third 😉  To say my competitive side was happy to beat them is an understatement!! I wish I would have taken a picture of the scores but that might have been rubbing it in a little bit 🙂

On Christmas Eve we spent with Andrew’s mom and sister. I made breakfast which consisted of Iowa Girl Eats Shortcut Cinnamon Carmel Rolls (delicious!!)

20131228-114753.jpg

We headed to Council Bluffs to spend time with Andrew’s Grandma, presents and lunch :).  Then we headed back to Walnut for a nice nap before it was time for church.

We headed into Walnut for Christmas Eve church, then home for PRESENTS!!  We had a great time opening presents, seeing what everyone got and just hanging out together.  Then it was off to bed for our road trip in the morning.  Christmas morning we got up and headed back to “The Ranch” (a.k.a. my Engstrom Grandparents house).  This is one Christmas tradition that never gets old to me.

We always have pancakes, sausage, and egg bake Christmas morning at my grandparents house before opening presents.  This year we (Emily and Andrew) helped Grandma finish her puzzle, and then we played some serious games of Skip-Bo, before heading back home.

We had a great Christmas and we still have one to go with my parents! Until then Andrew and I are going to not let this puzzle defeat us and get it put together!

Since I hadn’t got this published yet we did complete the puzzle in two days 🙂 here is the finished project

20131229-163651.jpg

Hope everyone had a great christmas spent with your friends and family!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

