Favorite things in 2013

Since we are quickly closing out 2013 here are my top things that topped 2013 for the Kinser’s.

13. Year 2 of Grad School 1/2 done!!!

I began Year 2 of Graduate School this June and as of right now I only have 3 classes left until I need to get my on job hours 🙂 Yay!! This means I’m closer to graduating and getting back to our normal life.  I love all of my classmates and the experiences we have had together thus far but I’m looking forward to getting my life back without homework involved 🙂

600863_10201585997478942_1212004575_n

12.Judy & Rhett’s engagement

We are very happy and excited for Judy (Andrew’s mom) and Rhett’s engagement.  Rhett is a great guy and we are excited to officially welcome him into the family in June 2015. 🙂

11.Crafts

Once my class this semester was over I got back into making crafts and things for my house.  This is something I recently made for our house and I can’t wait to make more things to put around our house.

1504018_991256043194_1305468681_n

My new year’s project is going to be finding an old dresser and making an entertainment center.  Stay tuned for that!

10. House Hunting

2013 began our house hunting experience.  Andrew and I are very new to this but our good friend and realtor Jonell has been awesome.  We haven’t found anything yet that we both love but I’m sure we will find something in 2014.  This process can be frustrating and aggravating but fun all at the same time.  I’m ready for us to find something to call our own!

9.Junk Jubilee

Jonell and I went to this fun event down in Des Moines this fall, and it was a blast.  It was antique dealers from Iowa, and other neighboring states came and while we might not have bought much we got lots of great ideas.  I did pick up a few things for Christmas gifts and something for my office which has since been placed at our home office 🙂

2013_1119AD
8. Race Season 2013

We finished the 2013 race season with a 9th place points finish at Marshalltown Speedway.  We had a good season and have already started getting ready for the 2014 race season.  It’s crazy to think that racing will start again at the end of March!  I can’t wait to reveal our 2014 color scheme on the race car as we are having a coloring contest so I’m excited to see how it will turn out!

2013_0524AA
7. Family Vacation to Okoboji

This is always one of the highlights of our summer as we spend a week at a house on Lake Okoboji with my mom’s family.  It so fun to be able to hang out, and relax with all of our aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents.  I look forward to this all year long, just relaxing by the lake and enjoying everyone’s company.

DSC01581
6. RAGBRAI!!!

This was my favorite part of the summer of 2013.  I can’t wait for RAGBRAI 2014 we all of our friends.  As crazy as it sounds I look forward to climbing on my bike early in the morning for our bike rides.  I’m ready for our RAGBRAI announcement as to where we will be riding this summer.

5. Chicago Weekend

It might be a little known secret but Andrew likes the St. Louis Cardinals and I like the Chicago Cubs, so come baseball season it is rivalry time!! Over the past couple years we have gone to Chicago to watch our beloved teams play.  This year our friends Megan and Eric came with us and we had a ball.  There are stories that I’m sure we will have for a long time to come.

2013_0713AB
4. NKOB

My teenage (or younger) girl dreams came true this summer when my group of girlfriends and I traveled up to Minneapolis to see NKOB in concert! They were in concert with 98 degrees and Boys II Men.  All three acts were great but by far my favorite was NKOB.  I was glad I spent the money on the ticket because it was well worth it!

1000116_10101286714056680_203168359_n
3. Iowa State Season Football Tickets

This was our first fall getting Iowa State season Football tickets, we didn’t have the season we were hoping for but had a great time going to every game and tailgating.  Our tickets are with Andrew’s sister Jessica and we have great seats on the 50 yard line.  We even braved the Iowa elements and stayed for the entire record breaking game.  It was record breaking because it was the coldest kickoff EVER at Jack Trice Stadium at a whopping 7 degrees.  It wasn’t as horrible as I thought it might be, but it was a great game to watch.

1452445_980451695194_1304123012_n
2. Emily & Terry’s wedding:

This year my sister and Terry got married this past August and the entire day was a blast!  They had the best day every, from great weather to a completely smooth day.  Here are a few pictures from that great day!

2013_0810AQ

11179_10151541182361513_1628704980_n

1175532_574032582661427_890581214_n

1. 1 year anniversary!!

1014_kara.jpg

One year of wedded bliss. August 4th marked our first wedding anniversary, I can’t believe one year has already pass.  Where has the time gone!?!  We had a great year of marriage and did a lot of things together and with our friends.  Here is to many more memories made together in 2014 and more years to come.
2013_1005AL

Happy New Years! Can’t wait to see you 2014!

~Kara

Leave a Reply

